about this site

In the summer of 2018, an innovative new course by IARU (The International Alliance of Research Universities) debuted, titled "COP4: Borderlands". Headed by Khatharya Um of UC Berkeley and Andreas Egelund Christensen of the University of Copenhagen, the program was part of the Global Transformation Initiative under IARU. ​Over the duration of about 4 weeks, the collaborative effort between UC Berkeley, the University of Copenhagen, and Chiang Mai University exposed participants to themes of progressive field research and scholar activism, centered around the idea of "Borderlands". Unfolding in Chiang Mai, Thailand, the course explored topics in natural resource management, social justice, mobilities and immobilities, and much more through both a individual research project and local NGO engagement. Two of the participants from UC Berkeley, Sebastian Ong-Osmond and Kung Chen, returned to UC Berkeley for the fall semester, where along with the guidance of Khatharya Um, met with Kira Stoll, Berkeley's Director of Sustainability, and a fellow student and Carbon Neutrality Fellow, Mikayla Tran.

Over the course of the fall 2018 semester, the three students synthesized ideas and projects surrounding how ideas of sustainability, scholar activism, and community outreach can carry out the work of the Global Transformation Initiative here at the UC Berkeley campus. One of the ambitious projects that have been carried out is this website, allowing for the further spread of ideas and collaboration between students at all of the different IARU institutions. Check out some of the great work and profiles of such students. Sign up and share your research and other interests!

the 2018 COP4 Cohort.

IARU, or the International Alliance of Research Universities, is a co-operative group of 11 research institutions across the world, with a commitment to educating and cultivating future leaders. This is through collaborations, events, seminars, and larger programs, such as the Global Summer Program (GSP) and Global Transformation Initiative (GTI). The IARU Chair is Carol Christ, the current Chancellor of UC Berkeley, where the IARU Secretariat is also located. Read more about IARU here!

The current IARU member universities are: Australian National University, ETH Zurich, National University of Singapore, Peking University, UC Berkeley, University of Cambridge, University of Cape Town, University of Copenhagen, University of Oxford, Tokyo University, and Yale University.

© 2023 by The Artifact. Proudly created with Wix.com